History of Tashkent Institute of Irrigation and Melioration has its origins in 1920, when meliorative engineering faculty was organized on the basis of the hydro technic engineering faculty of the Turkestan State University. Implementation of the republics of Central Asia, land and water reform and further development of irrigation and mechanization of agricultural production demanded the creation of a single technical institution of higher education.

In 1934, November 11, Tashkent Institute of Engineers of Irrigation and Mechanization of Agriculture (TIEIMA) was founded with two faculties: Hydro-melioration and Mechanization, and afterwards new departments were opened: Land Use Planning (1945), mechanization of irrigation and drainage works (1946), Hydroelectric construction (1946), Organization of water management (1974). In 1979, general engineering faculty was established.

For great achievements made in training, development and implementation of research in agricultural production in 1971, the Institute was awarded the Order of Red Banner of Labor. These achievements have invested many work rectors: prof. S.P.Pulatov (1961-1978 yy.), prof. S.I.Iskandarov (1978-1986 yy.), Academician A.U.Salimov (1986-1992.), Prof. S.I.Ibadullaev (1992-1995 yy.), Prof. A.R.Radjaboev (1995-2000.), Vice-Rector: prof. A.G.Ostankev, O.V.Lebedev academician, prof. F.M.Rahimbaev, retired colonel M.I.Muradov, prof. V.A.Em, prof. SS Mirzaev, prof. E.F.Fayzibaev, prof. M.I.Ismailov, Dr. prof.P.Umurzakov, prof. M.H.Hamidov.

An important new stage in the development institution is experiencing at the moment, March 30, 2004 decision of the Cabinet of Ministers of Uzbekistan Institute was transformed into Tashkent Institute of Irrigation and Melioration. Today the institute — it is well-known both at home and abroad institution. Currently, 4280 students training is carried out on 5 faculties, 29 departments of the 358 teachers and researchers. They include 31 professors and doctors, 157 associate professors and candidates of sciences. The Institute has a modern educational and scientific-experimental base, located in a unique educational and laboratory buildings with a total useful floor area 29350m2. Functions Scientific Library with a total fund of 613 770 thousand. Copies of volumes. The Institute’s Training and Board of Trustees.

The institute is focused on the more stable and purposeful work on improvement of the educational process, improve the efficiency of research, achieving more effective results in the education of future experts on humanistic and spiritual values inherent in the Uzbek people and proclaimed as a public policy priority.

История Ташкента института ирригации и мелиорации берёт своё начало в 1920 году, когда на базе гидротехнического факультета Туркестанского государственного университета был организован инженерно-мелиоративный факультет. Осуществление в республиках Средней Азии земельно-водной реформы и дальнейшее развитие ирригации и механизации сельскохозяйственного производства потребовали создание единого высшего технического учебного заведения.
В 1934 году 11 ноября был основан Ташкентский институт инженеров ирригации и механизации сельского хозяйства (ТИИИМСХ) с двумя факультетами: гидромелиорации и механизации, а впоследствии были открыты новые факультеты: землеустроительный (1945г), механизации гидромелиоративных работ (1946г), гидроэнергетического строительства (1946г) организации водного хозяйства (1974 г). в 1979 году был создан общеинженерный факультет.
За большие успехи достигнутые в вопросах подготовки кадров, разработки и внедрения научных исследований в сельскохозяйственное производство в 1971 году институт был награжден орденом Трудового Красного Знамени. В эти достижения много труда вложили ректоры: проф. С.П.Пулатов (1961-1978 гг.), проф. С.И.Искандаров (1978-1986гг.), академик А.У.Салимов (1986-1992 гг.), проф. С.И.Ибадуллаев (1992-1995 гг.), проф. А.Р.Раджабоев (1995-2000 гг.), проректоры: проф. А.Г.Останкев, академик О.В.Лебедев, проф. Ф.М.Рахимбаев, полковник запаса М.И.Мурадов, проф. В.А.Эм, проф. С.Ш. Мирзаев, проф. Э.Ф.Файзибаев, проф. М.Х.Хамидов, д.э.н. У.П.Умурзаков, проф. М.И.Исмаилов.
Новый важный этап развития переживает институт в настоящее время, 30 марта 2004 года постановлением Кабинета Министров Республики Узбекистан институт преобразован в ташкентский институт ирригации и мелиорации. Сегодня институт – это известное как в стране, так и за рубежом учебное заведение. В настоящее время обучение 4280 студентов осуществляется на 5 факультетах, 29 кафедрах 358 преподавателями и научными сотрудниками. В их составе 31 профессор и доктор наук, 157 доцентов и кандидатов наук. Институт располагает современной учебной и научно-экспериментальной базой, размещенной в уникальных учебно-лабораторных корпусах общей полезной площадью 29350м2. Функционирует научная библиотека с общим фондом 613770 тыс. экземпляров томов. В институте работают Учебный и Попечительский Советы.
Коллектив института ориентирован на еще более настойчивую и целенаправленную работу по совершенствованию учебного процесса, повышению эффективности научных исследований, достижению более действенных результатов в воспитании будущих специалистов на гуманистических и духовных ценностях, присущих узбекскому народу и провозглашенных в качестве приоритетов государственной политики.